logo Thursday, 23.01.2014
About us

From Holler’s foundry to the „Kunstwerk Carlshütte”

The Carlshütte Foundry established in 1827 by the merchant Marcus Hartwig Holler (1796 – 1858) was the first industrial operation in Schleswig and Holstein, and the first foundry in the State of Denmark to which the two duchies belonged at the time. By 1835, the Carlshütte Foundry was producing items including stoves, steam engines and agricultural machinery. A reminder of this time is the white bridge with the cast iron railings which still crosses the pond on the Blutbuche within today’s sculpture park. The bridge was cast in the Carlshütte in 1834. The Ahlmann family became increasingly involved starting in 1883, initially under the management of Johannes Ahlmann (1851 – 1939), who built up the workforce to a total of 1100 employees in 1909. The Carlshütte was the largest foundry in northern Germany at the time.


After the death of Julius Ahlmann in 1931, his widow Käte (1890 – 1963) took over as managing director. Käte Ahlmann expanded the business so that there were up to 2500 employees at times (1957) who enjoyed huge success with the production of stoves and enamelled cast iron bath tubs in particular. She founded the “Association of German Business Women” in 1954 (Verband deutscher Unternehmerinnen, VdU) where she acted as president for many years, and was also an executive board member of the European association “Femmes Chefs d’Entreprises Mondiales”. In this function, she met political celebrities of the time including Ludwig Erhard and Theodor Heuss. To celebrate her 70th birthday, she set up a foundation to support the Decorative Cast Iron Museum in Büdelsdorf in 1960.


Josef-Severin Ahlmann (1924 – 2006) launched his company Ahlmann & Co. in 1946 for the production of concrete construction elements and windows: on the left, the listed university church in Kiel, for which ACO produced the honeycomb-shaped window elements. The first drainage channels were produced in the 1960s. ACO’s activities extended beyond the borders of Germany for the first time in the 1970s with the innovative ACO DRAIN polymer concrete line drainage system. ACO today is one of the world market leaders in drainage technology.


The ACO Academy which opened in 2007 represents the modern face of the ACO Group. With a showroom and a wide-ranging programme of events for employees, clients and users, the ACO Academy stands for the technical and personal exchange of ideas and further education. ACO today is present in over 40 countries, and has production sites on four continents. The company employs 3,900 people world-wide. The Carlshütte Business Park was developed by ACO on the site of the former Carlshütte foundry, and boasts a total area of 60 hectares for industry, logistics, trade and commerce. The former foundry halls of the Carlshütte have now become the “Kunstwerk Carlshütte” – an art and culture centre which attracts around 50,000 visitors every year.



Kunstwerk Carlshütte

History at a glance

1827
Marcus Hartwig Holler, a young entrepreneur from Rendsburg builds an iron foundry in 1827 named the „Carlshütte” after his mentor, the royal governor of Schleswig-Holstein, Carl von Hessen.
1883
Johannes Ahlmann, son of Thomas Jørgen Ahlmann, who started selling the Carlshütte products on Holler’s behalf in Scandinavia in 1840, takes over commercial management of the Carlshütte Foundry in 1883.
1919
Julius Ahlmann succeeds his father Johannes Ahlmann as the commercial director of the Carlshütte Foundry on 1 January 1919. He had married Käte Braun five years earlier. Julius Ahlmann passes away in September 1931.
1931
Käte Ahlmann runs the business after the death of her husband and converts it into a family-run company. She still counts as one of the most important business women of the 20th century.
1946
Josef-Severin Ahlmann, younger son of Käte Ahlmann, founded a concrete works in 1946 on a site next to the Carlshütte Foundry. Initially established as Ahlmann & Co., the name of the company was later changed to ACO Severin Ahlmann.
1981
Hans-Julius Ahlmann, nephew of Josef-Severin, takes on more and more management responsibility for the company starting in the 1980s. He purchases the closed Carlshütte in 1997 and initiates the NordArt exhibition together with his artist friend Wolfgang Gramm.
2013
Hans-Julius und Iver Ahlmann represent the present and future of ACO. Iver Ahlmann was appointed Managing Partner of ACO Severin Ahlmann GmbH & Co. KG in 2012.

logo Donnerstag, 23.01.2014
Über uns

Von der Hollerschen Hütte zum „Kunstwerk Carlshütte”

Die 1827 von Kaufmann Marcus Hartwig Holler (1796-1858) gegründete Carlshütte war das erste Industrieunternehmen in Schleswig und Holstein und das erste Eisenwerk im dänischen Gesamtstaat, zu dem die beiden Herzogtümer gehörten. Schon um 1835 produzierte die Carlshütte unter anderem Öfen, Dampfmaschinen und landwirtschaftliche Gerätschaften. Eine Erinnerung an diese Zeit ist auch die weiße Brücke mit dem gusseisernen Geländer, die noch heute im Skulpturenpark über den Teich an der Blutbuche führt. Sie wurde 1834 in der Carlshütte gegossen. Schon ab 1883 war die Familie Ahlmann zunehmend involviert, zunächst unter der Leitung von Johannes Ahlmann (1851-1939), der den Betrieb auf bis zu 1100 Mitarbeiter im Jahr 1909 ausbaute. Die Carlshütte war damals das größte Eisenwerk Norddeutschlands.


Nach dem Tod von Julius Ahlmann 1931 übernahm seine Witwe Käte (1890-1963) die Geschäfte. Käte Ahlmann baute den Betrieb auf zeitweise bis zu 2500 Mitarbeitern aus (1957) und produzierte mit großem Erfolg insbesondere Öfen und emaillierte gusseiserne Badewannen. 1954 gründete sie den „Verband deutscher Unternehmerinnen“ (VdU), dem sie lange als Präsidentin vorstand und wirkte im Vorstand der europäischen Vereinigung „Femmes Chefs d’Entreprises Mondiales“. In dieser Funktion traf sie auf politische Persönlichkeiten ihrer Zeit wie Ludwig Erhard und Theodor Heuss. Anlässlich ihres 70. Geburtstags stiftete sie 1960 das Eisenkunstgussmuseum in Büdelsdorf.


Josef-Severin Ahlmann (1924-2006) startet sein Unternehmen Ahlmann & Co. 1946 mit Bauelementen und Fenstern aus Beton: unter anderem die unter Denkmalschutz stehende Universitätskirche in Kiel, für die ACO die wabenförmigen Fensterelemente aus Beton stellte. Die ersten Entwässerungsrinnen folgten in den 1960er Jahren. In den 1970er Jahren wächst ACO mit der innovativen Polymerbeton-Linienentwässerung ACO DRAIN erstmals über nationale Grenzen hinaus. Heute gehört ACO zu den Weltmarktführern in der Entwässerungstechnik.


Das moderne Gesicht der ACO Gruppe zeigt sich in der 2007 eröffneten ACO Academy: Mit einem Showroom und einem vielfältigen Programm für Mitarbeiter, Kunden und Anwender dient sie dem fachlichen und persönlichen Austausch und der Weiterbildung. Das Unternehmen ACO ist heute in über 40 Ländern präsent und produziert auf vier Kontinenten. Weltweit beschäftigt das Unternehmen 4.000 Mitarbeiter. Auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Carlshütte hat ACO den Gewerbepark Carlshütte entwickelt, der 60 Hektar Gesamtfläche für Industrie, Logistik, Gewerbe und Handel bietet. Aus den ehemaligen Gießereihallen der Carlshütte ist das „Kunstwerk Carlshütte“ geworden – ein Kunst- und Kulturzentrum, das jährlich rund 80.000 Besucher anzieht.

Die Geschichte als praktischer Download (PDF)


Kunstwerk Carlshütte

Die Geschichte im Überblick

1827
Marcus Hartwig Holler, Rendsburger Jungunternehmer, baut 1827 eine Eisenhütte, die er nach seinem Förderer, dem königlichen Statthalter von Schleswig-Holstein, Carl von Hessen, „Carlshütte” nennt.
1883
Johannes Ahlmann, Sohn von Thomas Jørgen Ahlmann, der die Produkte der Carlshütte für Holler seit 1840 in Skandinavien vertrieb, übernimmt 1883 die kaufmännische Leitung der Carlshütte.
1919
Julius Ahlmann tritt am 1.1.1919 die Nachfolge seines Vaters Johannes Ahlmann als kaufmännischer Direktor der Carlshütte an. Fünf Jahre zuvor hatte er Käte Braun geehelicht. Im September 1931 verstirbt Julius Ahlmann.
1931
Käte Ahlmann übernimmt nach dem Tod ihres Mannes die Geschäfte und wandelt die Gesellschaft in ein Familienunternehmen um. Sie zählt heute zu einer der bedeutendsten Unternehmerinnen des 20. Jahrhunderts.
1946
Josef-Severin Ahlmann, jüngerer Sohn von Käte Ahlmann, gründet 1946 auf dem Nachbargelände der Carlshütte ein Betonwerk, das zunächst als Ahlmann & Co. firmiert. Später erhält das Unternehmen den Namen ACO Severin Ahlmann.
1981
Hans-Julius Ahlmann, Neffe von Josef-Severin, übernimmt mit Beginn der 1980er Jahre mehr und mehr Verantwortung in der Führung des Unternehmens ACO. 1997 kauft er die stillgelegte Carlshütte und ruft mit einem befreundeten Künstler Wolfgang Gramm die Kunstausstellung NordArt ins Leben.
2013
Hans-Julius und Iver Ahlmann repräsentieren Gegenwart und Zukunft von ACO. Iver Ahlmann wurde 2012 zum geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter der ACO Severin Ahlmann GmbH & Co. KG bestellt.